Dr. Andary ImageThe AANEM Distinguished Physician Award recognizes a member’s superior achievements as a clinician, educator, and association volunteer. Dr. Michael T. Andary, an outstanding physician and leader in electrodiagnostic medicine, is the 2014 recipient of this award.

A past AANEM president, Dr. Andary participated in many committees including Finance, Annual Meeting Coordination, Program, and Professional Practice; he continues as a member of the Normative Data Task Force. He has served as an examiner for the American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine for many years and as a member of its Board of Directors from 2002-2004 and 2013-14. He also has served on the editorial boards of Muscle & Nerve and Clinical Neurophysiology and regularly reviews for numerous journals.

Dr. Andary was one of the lead authors in the development of the AANEM carpal tunnel syndrome practice parameter and the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons’ practice guidelines for the diagnosis of carpal tunnel syndrome. He also has contributed research and literature on radiculopathy and has been an active member of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

The honoree is a professor at Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (MSUCOM), where he has taught since 1988. He has served there on numerous committees, including Program Director for the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PMR) residency. He also maintains an active clinical practice as the co-medical director of the Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit at Sparrow Hospital, the Associate Medical Director at Hope Network Brain Injury Rehabilitation Program, and an electrodiagnostic and general rehabilitation consultant for outpatients.

Dr. Andary, a graduate of Wayne State University Medical School, received his PMR residency training and MS in Rehabilitation Medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle. His residency was followed with a Clinical Fellowship in Electrodiagnostic Medicine and Pain Management, also at the University of Washington in Seattle. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine and also is certified in the subspecialty of Pain Medicine.